TWD: Honey Nut Scones

Honey Nut Scones

So I couldn’t swing cheddar and dried apples this week so I substituted Honey and Pecans for them.  To be honest, I don’t think I’ve had a proper scone before.  I mean sure, I’ve had a scone-like muffin from a corner bakery before, but if you asked me to point out the scone in a lineup of breakfast muffins, I would be stumped!

On to the recipe.  The batter consisted of a liquid made of eggs, honey, and milk.  The dried ingredients were made up of unblanched flour, whole wheat flour (healthy!), baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

I really enjoyed making this batter by hand.  First I cut the pieces of frozen butter into the dried ingredients with my fingers.  I felt very in touch with my food when doing this.  You want to try to break the pieces of butter into small pieces.  This makes the scone flaky. Next I added the liquid and stirred it in with a fork.  Finally, I kneaded the dough lightly until everything came together.

Scone batter

Next I divided the dough into wedges with my pizza cutter.

Scone batter cut up into wedges

And into the oven they went.  20 minutes later they were all done.

Scones fresh from the oven

The scones were light and tasted great with a hint of honey.  By themselves they were a little dry but they’d be perfect for breakfast with a little honey and butter and a cup of coffee.

This was a fun and quick recipe.  I would definitely make it again for a weekend breakfast with family and friends.

10 responses to “TWD: Honey Nut Scones

  1. They look wonderful – glad the whole wheat flour worked for you (I wanted to try some, but was too chicken).

  2. Nice job. They look really nice. Honey and nuts sound like a great combo.

  3. I only know the British ones, these are totally different but good with the cheddar and apples in it. But your substitution sounds also delicious, like the triangle shape.

    Greets

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  4. I’ve been looking at the honey nut scone recipe – good to know you liked them.

  5. Pizza cutter! Why didn’t I think of that? Those look delicious and I love the nuts and honey!

  6. your pictures are really good…but I still don’t like scones! 🙂
    great job!

  7. All the flavors you used sound really good…and I like the color of them, very nutty and creamy looking. Everyone is so creative with their choices in flavors…such fun!

  8. Your scones sound wonderful! I liked the way you shaped them (with the pizza cutter).

  9. The flavors that you used sound so good! Great job!

  10. They look great, and the whole wheat flour is an excellent touch. Glad you enjoyed them.

Leave a comment