TWD: Double Crusted Blueberry Pie

Double crusted blueberry pie

Double crusted blueberry pie

Nothing says 4th of July like good ol’ fashioned apple pie. Well this week, we’re doing a twist on that and making blueberry pie instead. Blueberries are in season right now in southern California so they’re perfect for this recipe.

Blueberries

Blueberries

First of all, I used my trusted Sherry Yard’s Pie dough recipe. Her pie dough is very flaky and rises just right every time. I cut and froze the butter and then used my stand mixer to cut it into the dough.

This is what it looks like once the dough comes together and chilled it overnight.

The next day I rolled out the dough into two ~12″ rounds. One of them goes in the pie plate as the bottom crust. Then you add the bread crumbs and blueberries mixed with the sugar/flour mixture.

Finally you add the top crust and flute the edges. I added a sprinkling of raw turbinado sugar for an extra bit of crunch. In my haste I forgot to take a picture of the assembled pie before baking. I realized this after the pie was already in the oven so this picture is blurry. Sorry!

About 45 minutes later, tada! Blueberry pie. The pie looked really tantalizing as it came out of the oven with the juices bubbling and the scent of ripe berries. Mmmm…

Blueberry Pie

Blueberry Pie

Our guests and I gulfed this baby down in a hurry. I didn’t even have a chance to take a picture of an individual slice of pie. I also made some Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream but that escaped the camera as well. I’ll have to be faster with my camera trigger-finger next time.

16 responses to “TWD: Double Crusted Blueberry Pie

  1. Your pie looks great! I like how the sugar sprinkles show up on the top crust.

  2. How did the chocolate blueberry ice cream come out? The Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream was delicious! And your pie looks great! The edges are like an art form on your pie!

  3. I’ve got to say that your pie is perfection. The Kitchen Gods must have been smiling on you. Excellent work

  4. That looks fabulous! Great job!

  5. perfect fluted edges!! it looks amazing!

  6. Your edges look fabulous!

  7. I am green with envy about your edges. Is there a book or a site where I can see how it is done?

    The pie novice
    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  8. Great job! It looks perfect!

  9. Your pie is gorgeous and Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream sounds delish!

  10. Your pie crust looks fabulous! Great job!

  11. What a great looking pie! Excellent job.

  12. Great Job! Your pie looks fantastic. I loved Dorie’s pie crust recipe, but will have to give Sherry Yard’s a try!

  13. No wonder they ate it quickly…it looks very good! You do a nice job of photographing everything also…very nice.

  14. Chocolate blueberry ice cream!?! Was it homemade? Your pie looks great, by the way!

  15. Your pie looks fantastic. I’d love to try the chocolate blueberry ice cream!

Leave a Reply

