Stir fried pork with mystery eggplant like veg

I got this neato green eggplant-shaped veggie at the Farmer’s Market today.  I think the sign said “Opa” but in this case Google was not my friend and couldn’t tell me what it was.  I’m a regular at this market so the nice farmer let me have one on the house.

So we had some pork in the fridge and I did a stir-fry of the two.  The veggie has the texture of a Chinese “Si Gua”.  Sorry, I don’t know the English translation.  It’s very light and somewhat soggy.  Almost like cooked cucumber.  It paired well with the pork for a clean and healthy stir-fry.

Stir fried pork with \"Opa\" (Mystery eggplant like veggie)

Leave a Reply

