Caramel Peanut-topped Brownie Cake

I baked this cake to celebrate a friend’s birthday. Before I bake a dessert for someone, I try to find out the likes and dislikes. This particular friend has a fondness for caramel and nuts.

I baked the brownie cake base the day before the party. I didn’t have a springform pan so I used a regular 9″ cake pan. I buttered the pan, dusted the bottom and sides with flour, and then lined the bottom with a round piece of parchment paper. After baking the cake and letting it cool, the cake popped right out. No sticky mess at all.

Naked

The next day, I made the caramel-peanut topping. Dorie’s tip to judge the doneness of the caramel came in handy. She says that the caramel is done when it turns an amber color when dripped onto a white plate. The color and consistency of the sauce was perfect.

Caramel-peanut topped brownie cake

Unfortunately, I had to leave the party early so I didn’t get to taste any of the cake. I guess that’s a good excuse to make another one!

Leave a comment